A secured card where the deposit is your spending money, not a bill payment: no annual fee, no interest, no credit check, and it reports to all three bureaus. The catch is that it lives inside a Chime Checking account.
Links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Scored inside the credit-builder segment, where rewards carry almost no weight. A 1.5 on rewards is not a flaw here — a builder card is judged on who it approves, what it costs to hold, and whether it reports cleanly.
There is no rewards calculator here, because the standard card earns nothing. The number that matters is what a secured card costs you to hold — and on this one, the money you move in is the money you spend, so the usual answer (cash locked away plus interest) is $0 and $0.
On a traditional secured card you hand over a deposit, it sits untouchable, and you then pay a separate statement every month. Here the deposit is the money you spend: move $300 into Credit Builder, spend up to $300 on the card, and the charges are paid out of that $300. You are not paying a bill with new money — you are spending money you already set aside, and the bureaus see a paid account. Mechanics per Chime’s published terms [as of October 2026 — verify current terms].
Direct-deposit users who want zero-risk credit building — you already bank with Chime or are willing to, you get paid by direct deposit, and you want a tradeline that cannot charge you interest while it ages.
You want your checking account and your credit card at different banks, you need a card that grows into an unsecured line with the same issuer, or you can already qualify for a no-fee unsecured card.
The Chime Credit Builder Visa is issued by Stride Bank, N.A., for Chime. It carries a $0 annual fee, charges no interest, runs no credit check, has no minimum deposit, and reports to all three bureaus. To open it you need a Chime Checking account with a qualifying direct deposit of $200 or more in the past 365 days [as of October 2026 — verify current terms]. It scores 7.8/10 on the Cards Made Simple methodology, inside the credit-builder segment.
We analyzed 172 owner comments across 4 YouTube reviews, published between 2023 and 2026. Of the comments our scorer could rate for sentiment, 28 were positive and 3 negative; 58 comments mentioned the card by name. Most of the positive sentiment is about Chime as a bank rather than the card: the two most-liked comments (85 and 80 likes) are variations on “I love Chime, best banking I ever had.” That matters, because the card is only available to people who bank there — if you like the checking account, the card is a free add-on.
The sharpest criticism is also the most useful (69 likes): “For the love of sanity, which Chime account is the secured one? Which pays off which? I tried calling them for clarification, but their customer service reps are more confused than I am.” That confusion is real and structural — there is a checking balance, a Credit Builder deposit and a card balance, and the deposit both funds and settles the card. Another owner (45 likes) put the other objection plainly: “I like my direct deposit and credit card to be separate.” Price and value led the complaint themes (39 mentions), mostly about the direct-deposit requirement rather than any fee, because there are none.
A secured card normally costs you two things: the deposit you cannot touch, and interest on anything you carry. This card charges neither. There is no APR, so a carried balance is not possible in the usual sense — the charges are settled from the deposit. And because the deposit is the money you spend, nothing sits locked away: move in $300, spend $300, and your cash has done exactly what it would have done in your checking account, except that a paid tradeline got reported along the way. That is why fees and APR scores 9.8/10. The only cost is the requirement to run your direct deposit through Chime.
New builders often read a secured card as “I pay $200 and get $200 of credit,” then treat the statement as a second, surprising bill. On a traditional secured card both things are true at once — the deposit is collateral and the statement is a real bill. On this card the design collapses them: you fund the account, you spend from it, and the balance is paid out of that funding. Understand that before you open it, because the owner comments show the confusion costs people real time with support. The mechanic is also why the card cannot teach you the habit most unsecured cards require — paying a statement from a separate pot — so plan to practise that on your next card.
The card reports to Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, and payment history is the heaviest factor in both FICO and VantageScore models. Chime states that credit utilization is not reported on this card [as of October 2026 — verify current terms]; on a card with no fixed limit that is arguably the sensible choice, but it means the second-heaviest scoring factor — keeping reported utilization low — is not something this card can help with, where a traditional secured card with a set limit can. We do not publish expected score gains, because the bureaus do not, and because the result depends on everything else in your file.
Start with what the card does well. No fee, no interest and no credit check remove every way a builder card can hurt you. No minimum deposit means you can start with whatever you have this month. Settling from the deposit makes a late payment structurally hard to produce. Three-bureau reporting does the job. That is why it scores 9.8/10 on fees and APR and 9.0/10 on approval reality — not 10, because the direct-deposit requirement is a real gate for anyone paid in cash or by cheque.
Now the other side of the ledger. You must bank with Chime, and your pay must land there. The standard card earns nothing. There is no graduation — when your score is ready for an unsecured card you apply elsewhere and keep or close this one. Utilization is not reported, and the three-balances design confuses people. Perks are thin. These are why fine print scores 7.0/10: nothing here is a trap, but the card is a very specific tool for a very specific person.
Five factors go into every CMS score. Rewards value measures what the card actually returns at realistic spend, not headline multipliers. Fees and APR weighs the annual fee against the credits and earn that offset it. Perks and protection covers insurance, credits, and statement benefits. Approval reality reflects the credit profile the issuer actually approves. Fine print catches caps, exclusions, enrollment requirements, and category definitions that quietly change the math.
Rewards value scores 1.5/10, which is simply accurate for a card that earns nothing on its standard tier. Fees and APR scores 9.8/10, perks and protection 5.0/10, approval reality 9.0/10 and fine print 7.0/10 — an overall 7.8/10 within the credit-builder segment. Scores follow the published Cards Made Simple scoring methodology, which weights real reward math over headline rates and reads the fine print so you don't have to.
Get it if: Direct-deposit users who want zero-risk credit building — you already bank with Chime or are willing to, you get paid by direct deposit, and you want a tradeline that cannot charge you interest while it ages.
Skip it if: You want your checking account and your credit card at different banks, you need a card that grows into an unsecured line with the same issuer, or you can already qualify for a no-fee unsecured card.
| Card | CMS score | Annual fee | Deposit | Reports to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chime Credit Builder Visa | 7.8/10 | $0 | No minimum (spendable) | All 3 bureaus |
| Capital One Platinum Secured | 8.0/10 | $0 | $49 / $99 / $200 (locked) | All 3 bureaus |
| Self Credit Builder Loan | — | Admin fee | Paid in monthly instalments | All 3 bureaus |
Against the Capital One Platinum Secured (8.0/10, $0 annual fee): the Platinum is a traditional secured card — a $49, $99 or $200 deposit sits locked, you pay a real statement each month, and the account can graduate to unsecured with the deposit returned. It teaches the bill-paying habit and reports a set limit (so utilization counts); it also carries a high APR if you slip. If you can fund a deposit and want a card that grows up with you, it is the stronger pick. If you want zero interest risk and zero locked cash, Chime is. Read the Capital One Platinum Secured review →
Against the Self Credit Builder loan: Self adds an instalment account rather than a revolving one, and it costs money in fees and interest to run. Most thin files benefit from a revolving line first, and this card provides one for free — but Self does not require moving your banking. Read the Self review →
The Discover it Secured, the old default recommendation, closed to new applicants in 2026 and is no longer an option. See the full rankings on the best secured credit cards list and the best cards for bad credit list.
The only secured card that cannot charge you interest or lock up your cash. If you already bank with Chime, this is a free, no-risk tradeline and you should open it. If you do not, the direct-deposit requirement is the real price. Use it to build payment history, then move up to an unsecured card somewhere else — this one never graduates.
Links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Card details as of October 2026 — verify current terms with Chime before applying. This content is for informational purposes only and is not financial advice. Credit card terms, rates, and offers change frequently. Verify all details with the card issuer before applying.
If you already bank with Chime, this is a free, no-risk tradeline and you should open it. If you do not, the direct-deposit requirement is the real price. Use it to build payment history, then move up to an unsecured card somewhere else — this one never graduates.
Links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
The exact order to rebuild in, written for people starting from a secured card. Free, unsubscribe anytime.